27/07/2017 Intercontinental GT Challenge championship trophies unveiled at Spa

> Distinctive porcelain globes presented to 2016 champions
> 2017 campaign continues with Total 24 Hours of Spa this weekend
> Champions to be crowned at Motul Sepang 12 Hours on December 7-10

SRO Motorsports Group has unveiled the Intercontinental GT Challenge trophies that will be awarded to this year’s Manufacturers’ and Drivers’ champions during a special presentation in Spa-Francorchamps.

The iconic Belgian venue hosts round two of 2017’s IGTC campaign - the Total 24 Hours of Spa - this weekend, making it the ideal place for the eye-catching porcelain globes to make their public debut.

Reigning Drivers’ champion Laurens Vanthoor and Chris Reinke - who oversees the Audi Sport squad that won last season’s Manufacturers’ title - were presented with their trophies during the event’s annual drivers’ briefing at the Royal Theatre in downtown Spa-Francorchamps yesterday. They will keep the trophies until new champions are crowned at IGTC’s season finale - the Motul Sepang 12 Hours - on December 7-10.

Ferrari currently lead the IGTC standings after 2017’s first endurance race of the year - the Liqui Moly Bathurst 12 Hour - in February. Following this weekend’s race at Spa teams and drivers travel to America for the Mazda Raceway California 8 Hours on October 14/15 before Sepang closes the campaign with its own 12-hour contest in December.

Follow the Intercontinental GT Challenge live this weekend on the Total 24 Hours of Spa and Blancpain GT Series Facebook pages.



> Download: Motul Sepang 12 Hours Overview
> Download: Motul Sepang 12 Hours Entry Form